Skip to content

porous medium simulation issue

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics porous medium simulation issue

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    nipinl
    Participant

Hi,
    I am new to OpenLB, but used palabos in the past. I have a series of images of a simple porous medium and wanted to estimate the permeability. The resolvedRock3d is a perfect example for me. I ran resolvedRock3d for a few hours serially in my desktop with no results. I tried in an hpc machine with 80 cores, but the simulation got killed in minutes for unknown reason. But I believe it is related to memory.

I download the digital rock sample, generate tif stack using Fiji and convert to vti using paraview. I repeated with image stack of simple shapes like pipe, which palabos run in few minutes; but observed same behavior. Other cases like city3d are running pretty fast in the hpc.

I am sure that I’m messing up something but unable to pinpoint. I have used the same arguments like “”Tiff Scalars” 2.5e-6 1.0 200 1.0″ for resolvedRock3d as I’m not sure of these values. For simple porous medium, I replace 200 with number of slices and 2.5e-6 with physical dx.

Any help in this regard is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Nipin

jan
    Participant

Dear nipinl,

did you run the case from the example or another one? For me, it works as described there, even without a cluster. You should try to run that first and get accustomed to the parameters of the setup using that example.

The example case also comes with an explanation of the command line arguments:
    <filename> <arrayname> <scaling-factor> <time-scaling-factor> <resolution> <pressure_drop>
    So in the example you mentioned, rock.vti would be the file with the geometry, "Tiff Scalars" is the name of the array with the wanted data in that file.